New York Times Notable Book Challenge – Completed

Oh No – not another one šŸ™‚

Yep I have joined the New York Times Notable Book Challenge How scary am I?

The way the challenge works is this way: choose a feasible number of books from the 2006 list that you would like to read over the course of the year from the list of 100 Notable books from 2006 then read them – how hard is that?

OK – I am going to read 6 or 7- I may read more but with my other challenges this will do to start. 2 I already own, the other 4 I am interested in getting (3 from the library -one to buy):

I am picking:

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Read
Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky –
Read
The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai Read
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson Read
The Road by Cormac McCarthy Read
Digging to America by Anne Tyler Read
Beasts of no Nation by Uzodinma Iweala Read

“Want to read as well” maybe, if I have time and if I can easily get hands on a copy – list:

Black Swan Green by David Mitchell
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert


2 Comments

Filed under Completed: 2007

2 responses to “New York Times Notable Book Challenge – Completed

  1. Wendy

    Welcome aboard, Sally! Looking forward to talking books with you šŸ™‚

  2. Bonnie Jacobs

    I really like <>Half of a Yellow Sun<> by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which you say you’ve read. Have you done a book review of it? I had posted it as the FIRST suggestion on Book around the World, but I’ll add your other suggestion: <>Purple Hibiscus<> by the same author.What did you think of <>Suite Francaise<> by Irene Nemirovsky? I have this book on my TBR for France. Would you suggest this one for our Book around the World blog? or not?

Leave a Reply

