The 2007 Spring Challenge – Completed

Spring clean – sure it is spring up in the Northern Hemisphere – but here in Oz we are heading for Autumn – so how can I do a little spring cleaning on my shelf? Its all in the wording – I am going to find four books languishing in the cold winter of my bookshelf into the bright happy spring world of a read book.

So what is the spring challenge? Well the Spring Reading Thing challenge is being run by Callapidder Days over on her blog – She says

Have you fallen behind on your To-Be-Read list? Do you have books that you’ve started but haven’t finished? Have you been meaning to get around to that great book your friend recommended but just haven’t done it yet? Do you love to read and to find out what everyone else is reading? Then this challenge is for you!

Well this sounds like me – so I am joining in too – I am going to pick the 3 books from my TBR pile that I have had the longest, these are:

1. If ever I return by Sharyn McCrumb (Finished 15/04/07) *
2. Dragonclaw: Book 1 – The Witches of Eileanan by Kate Forsyth (Finished 18/06/07) *
3. P is for Peril by Sue Grafton (Finished 12/05/07) *

These have all been on my shelf since pre-2004. I think it is time they were taken out of the cold winter of the bookshelf into the bright happy spring world of a read book 🙂

* Review on my main blog – see side panel

Katrina at Calipidder Days has asked that we post reflections on our challenge experience.


  • What was the best book you read this spring? None of them were ‘A’ books – but the best was P is for Peril by Sue Grafton.
  • What book could you have done without? If Ever I Return by Sharyn McCrumb – was very disappointed in it.
  • Did you try out a new author this spring? If so, which one, and will you be reading that author again? Kate Forsyth was a new author for me – the book I read was her debut book. I am not sure if I would read another book in this series – maybe if she started a new one.
  • Did you come across a book or two on other participants’ lists that you’re planning to add to your own to-be-read pile? Which ones? Always on the look out for suggestions – I have a word document that I list the suggestions that appeal to me in alphabetical order – when I am in funds – or off to the library – I run an eye over the list to see what to get.
  • What did you learn — about anything — through this challenge? I learn’t not to over extend myself – always pick back-up books as well as the main list in case of a book you can’t finish – so I don’t have to end up forcing myself to read a book I didn’t enjoy.
  • What was the best part of the Spring Reading Thing? I got rid of the the three oldest books on my TBR shelf – that was a great achievement for me!
  • Would you be interested in participating in another reading challenge this fall? Yes I would, I have a few challenges still on-going, but by Autumn I will be ready again.

4 Comments

Filed under Completed: 2007

4 responses to “The 2007 Spring Challenge – Completed

  1. Deena

    My hubby was ready Sue Grafton’s alphabet series…but I think he stalled out at “J”…Happy Reading!

  2. Katrina

    I’m so glad you decided to join the challenge, even if it’s not spring where you are! I’ve read a couple of Grafton’s and enjoyed them all. Have fun reading!

  3. Rae

    The Sue Grafton books sound very interesting. Happy Reading! =)

  4. Alexis

    The Sue Grafton book looks good. Is it a good series? happy reading!

Leave a Reply

