R.I.P II Challenge – Completed

Stainless Steel Droppings is doing his RIP challenge again. RIP stands for Readers Imbibing Peril.

The R.I.P. II Challenge is a celebration of all tales gothic, eerie, creepy, and dark. Tales that one reads in the dark of night, experiencing delicious shivers of terror and suspense at each creak of the floorboards or each gust of wind. The definition for what type of books fit into this category will be very broad.

There are four Perils (challenges) to choose from – I am going to pick:

Peril the First:

Read Four books of any length, from any subgenre of scary stories that you choose.

These are my choices (Red means I have read it):

Grave Peril by Jim Butcher Read 02/09/07
A Bite to Remember by Lindsay Sands – Read 08/09/07
Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy – Read 20/09/07
Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J Smith – Read 04/10/07

Everybody’s reviews can be posted to Mr Linky at the R.I.P.ing yarns blog – will be a perilous source of creepy books.

8 Comments

Filed under Completed: 2007

8 responses to “R.I.P II Challenge – Completed

  1. Quixotic

    Interesting list! I’m not familiar with any of the titles, so will have to scurry away and look them up.The title “Grave Peril” is an excellent one for this challenge in name alone!

  2. Debi

    I agree with with Quixotic…”Grave Peril” sounds like it was meant to be for this challenge!

  3. Chris

    I’m not familiar with any of these books either, but that’s what makes these challenges so much fun! I’ll be reading the first book in the Dresden Files, Storm Front, as a bonus read. Looking forward to it. I’ve heard so much good stuff about that series!

  4. Ex Libris

    I’m not familiar with those titles, but they sound perfect for the challenge! Will look forward to hearing your thoughts on them.

  5. Court

    I’ve never read any of these books, but a friend of mine raves about L.J. Smith – especially the Night World series. I’m looking forward to reading your reviews. 🙂

  6. Framed

    I’m learning from this challenge that there is a whole other world of reading out there. This is my first foray into the world of creepiness so I’m sticking with some more well-known authors. Next year, I’ll have a libabry’s worth to choose from.

  7. Rus

    I have to agree with everyone else…I’m not familiar with these titles, either. But that’s the great thing about these book challenges! Too many good books…seems like there’s never enough time.My list is up!

  8. Court

    Are you planning on posting your reviews anywhere? I’ve never heard of any of these books, so would love to read what they’re about and how you’ve enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

