Once Upon a Time Challenge – Completed

Stainless Steel Droppings is once again weaving magic and fantasy over on his blog. He is launching his Once Upon a Time Challenge again. All those who are participating are putting links to their reviews here – drop over to ensure your TBR pile will grow.

I am doing Quest 2:

“…Read at least one book from each of the four categories. In this quest you will be reading 4 books total: one fantasy, one folklore, one fairy tale, and one mythology…”

My List:

Mythology: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (A contemporary 12-year-old New Yorker who learns he’s a demigod – the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon) Review is here

Folklore: Folklore of the Sea by Margaret Baker (My father was a Sea Captain – I am fascinated by the sea so I will read about some of it’s folklore) Review is here

Fantasy: Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke (A Dragon, A boy, A Journey) Review is here

Fairy Tale: Beauty Sleep by Cameron Dokey (The familiar “Sleeping Beauty” fairy tale and turned it into a fantastical romance guided by adventure and magic with humor and wordplay thrown in for good measure) Review is here

And for next time…..

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
Sorcery and Cecelia (or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot) by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer
Magyk by Angie Sage
Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
Dragon Challenger by E E Knight
Dragon Avenger by E E Knight
The Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley
Peter Pan in Scarlet by Geraldine McCaughrean
Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

4 Comments

Filed under Completed: 2008

4 responses to “Once Upon a Time Challenge – Completed

  1. Carl V.

    Yay! So glad you’re in! Thank you so much for jumping right on board. Great list too! Look forward to reading your reviews.

  2. Chris

    What a cool list! The only one I’m familiar with is the Funke book. I have a copy sitting on my shelf. I may get to it if I finish all of my other books in time! Enjoy!

  3. Robin

    I like your list, and haven’t read any of them, so I’m looking forward to reading your reviews!

  4. Carl V.

    Thanks again for participating, I really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

